Daily Prompt: Three letter words (Lonely without them)

What is lonelier than being alone

Alone at home with none to talk to

Except those stupid chatter boxes

Idiot boxes, I meant to refer to

That keep chattering incessantly

Giving no chance to poor me

To voice an opinion!

My ears go deaf,

My tongue desperate to lash

With words unrepeatable, indescribable

Against this noisy companion

Perched so precariously from my bedroom wall

Desperate, I pray

It fall, knowing it never will.

Until,

Realization dawns, I see a little light

Blinking,

Oh, my mind numb, I have forgotten

In desperation, press ‘Mute’

Break the chatter

Silence, at last!

Thank heavens I remembered my remote.

Leave a Reply

